

Monday, November 7, 2022 Innovation Hall, Bruneau Centre

Deans of Humanities & Social Sciences

A.C. Hunter (1950 - 1957)**Moses Morgan** Leslie Harris lain Bruce Michael Staveley Terry Murphy **Jim Black David Graham Steve Wolinetz Reeta Tremblay Noel Roy** Lisa Rankin Lynne Phillips Jennifer Simpson Ailsa Craig Natasha Hurley (2022 -)

(1957-1966) (1966 - 1974)(1974 - 1983)(1983 - 1993)(1993 - 2001)(2001 - 2002) interim (2002 - 2005)(2005 - 2006) interim (2006 - 2009)(2009 - 2011) (2011 - 2012) (2012 - 2017)(2017 - 2021)(2021-2022)



WELCOMING REMARKS

Dr. Natasha Hurley, Dean, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

DEAN'S LIST CERTIFICATES & PROGRAM BOOK PRIZES

Dr. Natasha Hurley, Dean, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Dr. Liam Swiss, Associate Dean (Research), Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

DEAN'S AWARD FOR ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE

Dr. Michael Staveley, Former Dean Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

HSS INTERNATIONAL STUDENT EXCELLENCE AWARD

Dr. Natasha Hurley, Dean, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences



FACULTY OF HUMANITIES AND SOCIAL SCIENCES

Dean's List 2021-2022

Every year, our Dean's List recognizes the efforts of undergraduate students who achieve significant academic success in the previous year of study.

To make the Dean's List, a student must have attained a minimum grade point average of 3.5, and an overall average of 80% (an "A" grade) in at least seven courses in an academic year.

We congratulate all those named here, whose exceptional academic performance has earned them a spot on this year's Dean's List.

Program Book Prizes

A Program Book Prize is awarded annually to one student per academic program who has demonstrated academic excellence in their declared major, and completed at least six semesters with a minimum of at least 90 credit hours. The recipient's contributions to the community and vitality of their department may also be considered.

Anthropology

Sadie Mees Megan Reid Mary Kathleen Shallow Piper Smythe Reanna St. Croix Jessica Spooner (Double Major w/ Sociology)





Archaeology

Leo Cox Kassandra Drake Shannon Earles **Finley Fleming** Bridget Hall Jenna Meggitt Lisa Neal Aderinola Olamiju (Double Major w/ Geography) Luke Rhodenizer Katrina Snook Heather Tough Emlyn Tuck Alannah Underhill Hannah Wade Gillian Wheaton





Kaitlyn Adams Emily Blackwood Hannah Borotsik Hannah Cooper Sara Magrabi Eric Steele Chris Stoyles





Communication Studies

J. Emily Amaral Rylee Barry Shannon Collins Olivia Harrhy (Double Major w/ Sociology) Charlotte Osmond Liam Palavicini Jauregui (Double Major w/ Philosophy) Emma Reid Jenna Reid Celina Tuffaha





Computer Science

Andrew Butler





Criminology (& Police Studies)

- Sophie Burness
- Bradley Hodder
- Lucas Moulton
- Neelparnaa Neelparnaa
- Erica Oliver
- Madison Pittman
- Sarah Rotchford
- Joshua Sinnott



Book Prize: Sarah Rotchford (CRIM) Bradley Hodder (PLST)



Adam Grevatt (Co-op)

Andrew Mackay (Double Major w/ Political Science)





English

Hannah Baker

Kate Bartlett

Alenor Boyd (Double Major w/ Classics)

Alexandra Brothers

Tiffany Curnew

Danielle Dalton

Noah Fahey

Colin Forward

Elizabeth Gauci

Jane Goulding

Hope Greeley

Tamarah Hill

Carrie Hookey

Raven Kramp-Ritman

Laura Martin

David Humby

Kelsey Morgan

Samantha Noel

Haley O'Driscoll

Alexander Oliver

Stephanie Peddle

Heather Power

Carla Quilty

Joanna Walbourne

Randi Whelan





Adam Strong (Double Major w/ Sociology)





French

Taylor Burke (Double Major w/ History) Deirdre Cameron-McKenna Julia Clark Barbara Clarke Danica Dean (Double Major w/ Biology) Sarah Decker Kacey Hutton Jarryd Macdonald Joshua Mcdonald Terri Lynn O'Neill Jenna Rideout Victoria Simmons (Double Major w/ Gender Studies) Richelle Wells



GENDER STUDIES

Rebekah Heinrich





GEOGRAPHY

Emily Butt Jeanna Crane Nathan Ryan Madelyn White



Book Prize: Aderinola Olamiju (Double Major with Archaeology)



HISTORY

Cameron Baker Andrew Ballam Ella Banfield (Double Major w/ French) Jesslee Devison (Double Major w/ Classics) Abigayle Evoy Jessica Flight Nicholas Gushue Jean-Luc Matte (Double Major w/ English) Emily Weldon



LAW & SOCIETY

Meaghan Gaudet Joel Smith Benjamin Thompson





Linguistics

Nour Almadhoun

Cassidy Benson

Abby Brenton

Chloe Brubacher

Leah Bugden

Luca Dinu

Hayley Martin

Maria Mills (Double Major w/ Spanish)

Emily Neary

Courtney Pearce

Victoria Pike





Kaley Marie Sanderson





Philosophy

Caleb Browne Margaret Hynes Jintao Liang (Double Major w/ Political Science) Colm McGivern Aaron Rhinelander (Double Major w/ English) Joshua Tucker (Double Major w/ Philosophy)



Political Science

Asia Bazzocchi

Abigail Cole

Andrew Dogurga (Co-op)

Meret Ebsary (Double Major w/ English)

Erica Evely

Sarah Fowler

Emil Francis

Rachel Hawco (Double Major w/ English)

Annie McCarthy

Madilyn Miller (Double Major w/ Philosophy)

John Mweemba (Double Major w/ Law & Society)

Garrett Neenan

Gala Jauregui Palavicini (Double Major w/ Russian)

Benjamin Pollard

Sarah Worthman



PSYCHOLOGY

Sadaf Aliyeva Bridget Barry (Double Major w/ Criminology) Juliette Battcock **Brianna Brewer Emma Duffett** Courtney Loveless (Double Major w/ Gender Studies) Emily Lundrigan (Double Major w/ Sociology) Rachael Pike Andrea Pope Danielle Stevenson **Taylor Stone Bethany Szabo** Emma Wiseman Haley Young





Religious Studies

Madison Bennett Leah Downey Ashlinn Pennell





Sociology

Maria Baker Olivia Corbett Jessica Cross (Double Major w/ Law & Society) Anita Drodge **Emily Drover Devoney Ellis** Lydia Hardy Samantha Hillier Julia Kelly (Double Major w/ Communications Studies) Maria Lawlor Jules McLeish Jessie Ann O'Neill **Rebecca** Offrey Hannah Pond **Kimberley Reid Book Prize:** Lauren Rowe Jessica Cross (Double Maior w/English) Kathy Stock

Caroline Walsh

Shane Walsh

Dean's Award for Academic Excellence

The Dean's Award for Academic Excellence in Humanities and Social Sciences is given to a student pursuing a BA who has maintained Dean's List standing each year of their undergraduate program, or for a fourth time.

Jesslee Devison	
Elizabeth Gauci	
Stephanie LeGresley	
Hayley Martin	
Sarah Worthman	



HSS International Student Excellence Award

The HSS International Student Excellence Award provides \$5,000 to an international student in our faculty who demonstrates outstanding academic performance.

The scholarship is granted to a 2nd year student, and is renewable for recipients' third and fourth years of study, if they maintain scholarship standing.

The aim of this award is to provide incentive for international students to apply to the Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences, and to retain highly motivated and talented international students.

Neelparnaa Neelparnaa | Criminology

Gala Palavicini Jauregui | Political Science

Aderinola Olamiju | Archaeology





FACULTY OF HUMANITIES AND SOCIAL SCIENCES







@MEMORIALHSS